Who started the Rastafarian movement?

 Rasta youth in Jamaica , Africa and worldwide ask the question of the founding father of the Rastafari movement.I always muse about this.I have watched documentaries and have looked anywhere possible to find an answer to this question.I know the reader has also done his/her own research to get an answer to this question.In my own theory,I will say King Hailie Selassie I is the founding father of our dynasty.I will not call it a religion cause to me it is not and the general public should not have that opinion about Rastafariansism being a religion.When you take the chance to ask other Rastas this question You will get answers like Hon Marcus Garvey II ,Father Leonard Howell and even Bob Marley may emerge.

  In 1930 when King Ras Tafari Makhonnen was crowned king in Ethiopia,There was the issue of a war between the kingdom and Italy.What I understand is the war is that the Emperor led the army of Ethiopia  to victory .For a leader to sally forth with his army to win war at that times was a rare phenomenon.Ask if the Kaiser himself went to war or the queen of england.In Ghana ,Nkrumah never went to war with the British.never.My theory expounds that if You can fight for freedom of your people,You deserve unlimited eulogies.There fore I will say King Selassie I is the first Rastaman and his messengers are Hon Marcus Garvey and Leonard Howell.King Selassie I

Standard

Leave a comment